BatBlog

20 Jun 2008

Hidden Beauty in Images

Filed under: Maguffyn — Tags: , , , — maguffyn @ 21:38 UTC

Once upon a time I used to be a geophysicist. Not a very good one, in fact I think I can lay claim to being the world’s most environmentally friendly oil explorer: I didn’t find any. I even got sent to look for oil in Saudi Arabia and managed to come up dry- now that, my friend, that takes some doing.

So, even though in the entirety of my exploration career I used more oil travelling to far flung parts of the world than I ever found when I got there, I still somehow manage to maintain accreditation with various professional geophysics organisations, including the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists, who send me a monthly magazine. Needless to say, most of the content goes far over my head (perhaps this is why I was so singularly unsuccessful at exploration?) but every now and then there is an article that makes sense, is at least half way well written (hey, I can recognise good writing, even if I find the act of creating a well written piece a little harder) and is worthy of a wider audience.

Well this article http://www.cseg.ca/publications/recorder/2008/02feb/feb2008-amplitude-and-phase.pdf is just such a cool little piece. It shows how information can be hidden, how the traditional approaches of discovery can be effective, but sometimes you need to take an unusual tack to get significantly better results. And if you look very closely, the world can be a far, far more beautiful place than you ever imagined before.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

