Train Crash TV

I am still managing to stick to my New Year Resolution of only watching worthwhile TV. I fall off the bandwagon occasionally, but try to stick to the resolution, because I feel it is worth it. Anyway, the result of whatching these different TV shows, often back to back is that you see the differences between the watching experience:

Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip
Is a glorious, life affirming experience that wants to make me a better, smarter person. And was the cause of the post I want to live in TV land
What About Brian
Reminds me of a shambles of a group of friends that I know called the Strollers
Heroes
Is kind of cool and I can’t help but watch it even though it doesn’t give a warm buzz I keep watching it.
Dirt
Is an apt name for the show. Courtney Cox is completely unlikeable as the lead actress (and she blew guest star Jennifer Aniston off the screen), the show is completely unsuitable to watch with your parents (or your kids) and it focuses almost entirely on the seamy underbelly of Hollwood.And yet I have been entirely unable to switch it off. Part of this is due to an outstanding performance from Ian Hart but beyond that I have no idea why I have been able to turn it off.

Which is the reason for the title. I have never witnessed a train crash, but apparently we can’t look away. Which is what I found with Dirt. I don’t really want to watch it, but I can’t not. At least the first season is done now and I can find something else to watch. Any suggestions? Anyone?

Leave a Reply

