BatBlog

10 Sep 2007

Getting the hang of web 2.0

Filed under: IT — maguffyn @ 17:00 UTC

OK, I admit it. Compared to many people on the planet I am a dinosaur. I like ‘old’ houses- with character, I like proper grammar and sentence construction- even when I send a text, I like to use real knives to cook with.

And it takes me a while to understand how to use new toys. Like this web 2.0 thingy. So, as you are now reading, I have a blog that is managed by some very clever people, somewhere in the world (I have no idea where) because it is easier for me to do that. I also have a Flickr account and now I have just moved into the area of social bookmarking.

Except that I am not really using it as social bookmarking site, yet. See, the difficulty is that we have all been suckered into the terms that browser designers have given us. And the most common browser is Internet Explorer and their term is “Favorite” (spelled incorrectly, but that is another story) . Now I have a few pages that truly are my ‘favourites’. But most time I just want to be able to come back to this cool page that I have found. At which point the difficulty comes in knowing where to put something: is this in ‘IT’ or ‘News’ or ‘Shopping’ or wherever.

The social bookmarking sites appear to offer a solution to this- by allowing you to attach multiple tags to the page and then finding it again through any of those tags. Good news, I can save my page with all the tags necessary. The downside, I think that there needs to be some measure of ‘controlled vocabulary’ to ensure that the tags don’t disappear into metacrap.

See, I have been reading up on this stuff too.

So now I have to go through all my so-called favourites and find those that truly are favourites (probably less than 20 I guess) and what are bookmarks that I want to find again. Then classify them, then make sure that I have spelled the tags correctly. Oooh, it is just so much fun. Anyway, the tags are now at http://del.icio.us/maguffyn

1 Comment »

  1. Look who popped up in my stats. Nice blog. Welcome to the web2.0

    Metacrap is a great term. I’ll use that in a lecture if that’s okay.

    Andy

    Comment by Andy — 14 Sep 2007 @ 15:39 UTC


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

